Summer!

Summer is coming up fast for us students!  There’s under a month left of school until we’re let off on our two month break.  Although I have 5 AP assignments and studying for both the SAT and my drivers license, I’m excited to learn mostly from the comfort of my home rather than a classroom setting for a while.  Although I used to wish I could be home schooled, lately I have honestly begun to love my school and the people I’ve met.  Despite the workload in school, it’s always gratifying to talk to my friends and catch up on each others’ lives.  What’s been the hardest part for me at the end of this school year, asides from the schoolwork, has been saying goodbye to the senior friends I’ve made.  As they go off to college I know it won’t be likely that we keep in good touch, but I’m grateful for the time we spent together during these past few months.

On another note, this summer I have quite a few plans on what I’m going to do with my friends and family.  For the first four weeks of summer my grandparents from New Brunswick, Canada are visiting us, and I look forward to spending time with them.  Our main plan is to go camping at Sequoia, National Park; their favorite place in the United States.  I’m also looking forward to going to the Huntington Beach Pier and eating at the restaurant, Ruby’s with them.  Whatever other surprises we have for them, I know that they’re going to be highly enjoyable.

If my volunteering club has events during the summer, I’ll try my best to attend them, as during the end of the school year I didn’t have enough time to be very active in the club, and I miss going to the events.  My last main plan for spending my freetime is to get a summer job, preferably at Albertsons.  Despite what job it is, I’m excited to work and earn a bit of money so that I can afford a few everyday things and add onto my savings for college.

Throughout the years I’ve always been antisocial and tried my best to avoid “hanging out” with my friends. I tried my best to change that flaw this year, and I honestly believe that I have changed significantly.  My main plan is to go to Disneyland (and maybe Knott’s Berry Farm or Six Flags) with one of my best friends who lives an hour away from me.  We’ve been looking forward to hanging out for months, and can’t wait to go to Disneyland together at the end of June.  I’m currently trying to convince one of my friends to have a Lord of the Rings and Hobbit movie marathon with me after I complete rereading the series, but unfortunately, so far I don’t have any takers.  I’m  also planning on accepting more offers from my friends, such as to spend time with them at their house, watching a movie, or anything else they plan.

As both this blog and school year come to an end, I think that I should point out the direction of my blog.  I’m planning to make this blog more personal rather than scholarly during the summertime, so make sure to follow me if you’re interested in my life!

– Melissa

Leave a Reply

