The University of Manchester: John Rylands Library

Most of us have dreams about visiting certain places in the world that we have never been to before.  For the past few years, my dream has been to travel across New Zealand and the United Kingdom.  One of the areas on the top of my list is the beautiful city of Manchester, England.  Not only is the city life amazing, but it is the home to my favorite university, the University of Manchester.  Realistically, I will probably be attending either the University of California, Irvine or the University of California, Davis for my first four years of college, because they are closer to home and affordable.  However, I would be extremely happy to at least visit the University of Manchester.

I could go on and on (and I probably will in a later post) about how amazing the architecture of all of the university’s buildings are, but for now I’ll focus on only one: the John Rylands Library.

The building’s style of architecture is Gothic Revival, and it was opened in 1990.  Enriqueta Augustina Ryland founded the library for her husband, John Ryland, who was an English entrepreneur and philanthropist.  The architecture and interior design of the building are amazing, and it seems as if it came out of a fairy tale.  It’s the type of place you could lose yourself in when you walk around and pay attention to all of the the small details.  On multiple occasions I have found myself scrolling endlessly on Google Images through all of the pictures people have taken on the exterior and interior of the building, and I wish that I was able to see it with my own eyes instead of  through the screen of a computer.

Leave a Reply

